How to add users and modify Account Types in Pigment

  • 17 March 2022
  • 0 replies
  • 148 views

Userlevel 4
Badge +3
  • Community Manager
  • 41 replies

Adding users in Pigment is easy, this article will quickly walk you through the permissions needed and the process to invite users into your Pigment workspace.

 

Account Types

 

Account types play a big role in adding users and creating Applications, there are three types of user Accounts; an Admin is the only one who has the ability to Add Users.  Account Type permissions are at the Workspace level, meaning that they do not impact a user’s permissions within an Application.  

Account Type Permissions Available 
Primary Owner

Manage Members (Add, remove, delete Members)

Manage Integrations

Create / Delete Applications

Can Impersonate users 

*Can’t be edited or disabled by other Admins

Security Admin 

Manage Members (Add, remove, delete Members)

Manage Integrations

Create / Delete Applications

Can Impersonate users 

Admin (Also known as Workspace Administrators) 

Manage Members (Add, remove, delete Members)

Manage Integrations

Create / Delete New Applications

Builder Can Create New Applications
Standard User Can be added to existing Applications. 

 

The Primary Owner is a “protected” user which cannot be edited/disabled by other Admins. There is only one per workspace. If you want to change the primary owner of your workspace, please follow the steps below.

 

Adding Users

 

To add a user, navigate to the Member section in the Sidebar.  In the top right, click the @Invite new members button.  If you don’t see this button, it is because you do not have an account type of Admin. Once you click on the button, you will be prompted with a modal, simply add in the new member's email and name.  The user must confirm their email to be activated.

Members settings in Pigment

 

Status 

 

There are three different account statuses; Pending, Active and Deactivated.  

Pending - When a user is initially added, their account will be Pending, until they confirm their email.

Activated - This status is for an active user who has confirmed their account.

Deactivated - You can deactivate an account to remove access to pigment.  We do not delete members in order to keep their contributions as part of the history log.  To Deactivate a member, click on the ellipsis, next to their name.   

 

Edit Account Type

Primary Owners, Workspace Admins and Security Admins, can adjust another members names and account type.  Click on the ellipsis (…)  next to the member whose details you want to adjust. 

Edit or deactivate an member

 

Transferring Primary Owner 

 

The Primary Owner of a Workspace has the ability to set another member as the Primary Owner.  When they click on the ellipsis (…)  next to the member they will also see the option to Set as Primary Owner. Once this is done, the new Primary Owner will be the only one who can transfer it back.  The original Primary Owner’s account will be changed into a Security Admin. 

 

 

 

This article outlines how to give someone access to your Pigment workspace, for best practices on how to give access to an Application, Check out this article  Setting up User Access The Complete Practical Guide.


0 replies

Be the first to reply!

Reply