Disabling autosave on lists to increase performance by bundling updates

  • 7 April 2022
  • 0 replies
  • 32 views

Userlevel 4
Badge +3
  • Community Manager
  • 41 replies

When a list’s members are manually updated, whether adding a new item, new property or making an adjustment to existing attributes, these changes are instantly synchronized in all blocks that use or reference that list.  Depending on the size of the list, application, or complexity of formulas, this could take some time to update. The Autosave inputs toggle switch allows you to delay the saving of adjustments made to list until you have finished adding or adjusting. 

Table of Contents

 

When should I turn off autosave on a list?

 

When you are making multiple updates to a list, turning off autosave will remove the need for Pigment to update every time an adjustment is made.  We recommend disabling autosave when the time to update the list is imposing on your ability to make updates. By disabling autosave, you are allowing all these updates to happen in one action vs multiple smaller ones.

 

What type of changes can I make with autosave disabled?

 

Currently, disabling autosave only allows for manual updates to Dimension and Transaction lists, it does not apply to importing. You can add new items to a list, new properties and edit both items and properties. From within a list’s view, you can disable autosave in the top right corner.  By default, autosave inputs will be turned on.  To disable autosave, click on the toggle switch, once it turns to gray, autosave is off.

Autosave is currently on in this image

Making changes with autosave disabled

Once autosave is disabled, you can start to edit the list.  Adding new items will appear similar but you will notice that any new values added to lists or their properties appear in purple with an edit icon next to them.  This is showcasing that an edit has been made.  When autosave is disabled, at the bottom of your screen, you will see an update status bar.  This will identify how many changes have been made, identify any conflicts(more information below), and also filter to show only rows with updates.  You can also decide to discard all updates from here or save them.  After making changes simply click Save updates in the update status bar or toggle autosave back on!

 

Warning

While autosave will verify the correct data type is being entered, it will not detect if an item is not unique.  If a list name or property is set to unique, make sure to not duplicate items.  This will cause the save to fail.

 

Identifying conflicts with other users

If another user is working within a list and updates a cell, assuming they do not have autosave disabled, these changes will appear.  If they update a cell that has an unsaved change, the cell will turn red, this is what is called a conflict.  All conflicts must be resolved before a list can be saved.  Hover over the conflict cell and a pop-up will appear. 

When you edited - shows you what the value was when you updated the cell. In the example below, it's blank because there was no data in the cell at the time the edit was made.  

Current Value - this shows the value that was entered by another user and has since saved  

Discard update - this will discard the update that you made and keep the value from the other user.  Overwrite current value - this will take your proposed value and overwrite the other user's input. 

You can also click Clear Change which will discard your update. 

 

 


0 replies

Be the first to reply!

Reply