Boards are a great way to have a clear overview of your Tables and charts. They help you visualize your data, emphasize a point and collaborate with your team. In this article, you will learn how to comment on a Board, whether it is on a widget or on the content of a cell, edit your comment, tag someone and resolve a conversation.
Post a new comment on a Widget
As a reminder, a widget can be a KPI, chart, grid or even text. To post a new comment on a Board, just go over any Board widget and click on the speech bubble located in the right corner.
The conversation side panel will open. You can start writing your comment, it will be linked to the widget in the Board.
To assign a task to teammate, you can type "@" in the comment and enter the first letters of their name. We will send them an email with a direct link to your comment.
Post a new comment on a cell
When you comment at the widget level, you’ll see the name of the widget at the top. There will be instances where you want to comment at the cell level. To do this, just right-click on the cell you want to comment on. The panel will open, similar to comments at the widget level. This feature is available only for grid widgets.
View all open conversations in a Board
You can click on the number of comments displayed on the top right-hand side of the board to see all the open conversations.
Once you click, if a widget has a comment on it, either at the cell or widget level, it will be highlighted in yellow. If a comment is made at the cell level, it will appear with the top blue corner shaded. If another widget or comment is selected, that indicator will turn gray.
Within the conversation side panel, you can also find details on the location of comments. If a comment is made at the widget level, you will just see the name of the widget. If a comment is made at the cell level, you’ll see the name of the grid, along with an icon next to it. If you hover over that cell, you’ll get the information on the specific dimensionality where the comment is located. This is important because depending on the page selection, the comment might not be visible.
Look at the example below, The top comment was made at the cell level, you can see all the specifics on which cell was commented in. The second comment was made on a grid widget, therefore you you will only see the widget name.
Note: comments at both levels are linked to a specific widget of a board and not to a specific cell of a block. This has the following consequences:
- if the widget is deleted and added again, the comment won’t appear on the new widget
- if the widget’s view is changing in a way the view is not showing the same cell coordinates, the comment’s beacon won’t be shown on that view and clicking on the comment on the side bar will trigger a snackbar explaining the cell can’t be shown
- if the commented cell doesn’t exist anymore because its coordinates are not compatible anymore, a specific message indicating the context can’t be retrieved will be displayed instead of the cell’s coordinates. For example, if you delete an item and there was a comment related to that item, you will get an error message.
- A comment on a deleted block will show a specific context explaining to the user the block was deleted.
Comments are made on the cell’s coordinates, not on the value associated with the cell. Because of this, if the cell’s value has changed, that information won’t be displayed to the user.
Resolve a comment or conversation
To resolve a conversation, click on the checkbox next to your comment. No need to worry about losing the conversation thread, it’s possible to see resolved conversations in a Board and also re-open a conversation.
Create a private conversation
By default, all conversations created are public, meaning that everyone will be able to see the content of the conversation, assuming they have access to the board.
You can restrict the people who have access to a given conversation by setting it as Private. The user who creates the first comment is the owner of the conversation. They can add any member of your application to the private conversation, during the creation step or even after.
The status public/private of a conversation is set at the very beginning, before a message has been sent, and can’t be updated afterward. This means you can not make a public comment private or vice versa. However, the owner of the conversation can add users at anytime.
Any user can see the status public/private of a conversation. If the conversation is private, all authorized user can see who has access to the comment. However, only the owner can edit this list.
When a user mentions someone not in the restricted group of users allowed to see the conversation, they will see an inline message after sending the comment stating that the mentioned user is not in the conversation. If the user is the conversation owner, they will have the ability to invite them by hitting “Invite them”. Otherwise, they will need to ask the owner of the conversation.
When a user not having access to the conversation is mentioned, they don’t receive an email stating that they were mentioned. However, if they are added later on to the conversation, they will receive an email stating that they were mentioned in the conversation.
When a link of a private message is shared with someone not having access to the conversation, the user won’t be able to see the content of the conversation, nor the cell or widget it relates to.
The number of conversations shown at the board or widget level includes the number of conversations to which the user has access, whether it is public or private, but with the user being included in the restricted users.
Edit Message or copy link
To edit your comment, click on the 3 dots next to your comment and click "Edit message".
You can also use the feature "Copy link" available in the 3 dots next to your comment to send it to someone in Slack, Email or any other collaborative tool.