How to add users and modify Account Types in Pigment

  • 17 March 2022
  • 0 replies
  • 1280 views

Userlevel 7
Badge +13
  • Community Manager
  • 385 replies

Adding users in Pigment is easy, this article will quickly walk you through the permissions needed and the process to invite users into your Pigment workspace.

 

Table of Contents

 

Account Types

 

Account types play a big role in adding new Members and creating Applications, there are five types of user Accounts; Primary owner, Security Admin, Workspace Admin, Builder, and Standard User.  Account Type permissions are at the Workspace level, meaning that they do not impact a user’s permissions within an Application.  

When Members are added, there will be a circle with their initials in it.  The color is determined by their Account type.  You can click on the Account type heading to sort and view the color assigned to each Account type. 

 

 

 

Each account type has a specific set of permissions that determine what actions they can perform within the system or platform. The highest level of control and access is typically granted to the Primary Owner, followed by the Security Admin and Workspace Admin. Builders have specific application-related permissions, and Standard Users have more limited access, primarily to participate in existing applications.

 Here's a breakdown of the permissions available for each account type:

  1. Primary Owner:

  2. Security Admin:

  3. Workspace Admin:

  4. Builder:

    • Create New Applications
    • Duplicate Applications (if they have Display Application permission on the application)
    • Delete Applications (if they are also the Application Owner)
  5. Standard User:

    • Can be added to existing Applications.

 

 

The Primary Owner is a “protected” user which cannot be edited/disabled by other Admins. There is only one per workspace. If you want to change the Primary Owner of your workspace, please follow the steps below.

 

Transferring Primary Owner 

 

The Primary Owner has the ability to set another member as the Primary Owner.  When they click on the ellipsis (…)  next to the member they will also see the option to Set as Primary Owner. Once this is done, the new Primary Owner will be the only one who can transfer it back.  The original Primary Owner’s account will be changed into a Security Admin. 

 

Adding Users

 

To add members, navigate to the Member section in the Sidebar.  In the top right, click the @Invite new members button.  If you don’t see this button, it is because you do not have an account type of Admin, Security Admin or Primary owner. Once you click on the button, you will be prompted with a modal.  You’ll have the option to add users individually or through bulk import with a CSV.   A members status will be listed as Pending, until they confirm their email.  

Members settings in Pigment

 

Bulk Inviting members

 

When adding new members to your Pigment workspace, you can add them individually by entering their email and name or through bulk importing with a CSV.  When adding members with a CSV, you’ll need to have their name and email in the file.  There is a template CSV that you can download from within the Invite members modal.   The new members will all come in as Standard Users but you can update their status following the process in this article.

 

 

 

Members status 

 

There are three different account statuses; Pending, Active and Deactivated.  

Pending - When a user is initially added, their account will be Pending, until they confirm their email.

Activated - This status is for an active user who has confirmed their account.

Deactivated - You can deactivate an account to remove access to pigment.  We do not delete members in order to keep their contributions as part of the history log.  To Deactivate a member, click on the ellipsis, next to their name. If a Member owned any applications and is subsequently deactivated, Security Admins will be able to manage the ownership of those applications without owners.

 

Edit Account Type

Primary Owners, Workspace Admins and Security Admins, can adjust another members names and account type.  Click on the ellipsis (…)  next to the member whose details you want to adjust. 

Edit or deactivate an member

 

Changing Application Owners

 

Security Admins can change the Application owner from the Workspace home page.  In tile view, click on the … menu on the Application tile  or in list view, click on the … menu to the far right of the Application.  Here you will see a menu appear and you can select Change owner.  This allows Security admin to select from active Members to reassign them as the Application Owner.

 

 

Grant an Admin role to Applications

 

Security admins have the ability to grant themselves an Admin role for any application, including those they do not have access to.   In tile view click on the  menu on the application tile  or in list view click on the  menu to the far right of the application. there is a menu option called Change my Role  there are two options to choose from, you can select Admin to give yourself an Admin role or None to remove access.  This allows Security admins to grant themselves access to Applications where Members might be locked out.

 

Security Admins will also have an Application access filter to easily identify which Applications they don’t have access to.  Applications they do not have access to are grayed out.

 


This topic has been closed for comments